Senate joins Lionet

David Weinsaft chats will fellow Senators.

glenn landberg

David Weinsaft chats will fellow Senators.

Student Senate will be conducting more of its business online this fall through Lionet.

“Anybody who wants to know about Senate can come check it out,” said Ben Hinkle, president of Student Senate.

Resolutions will be posted on the site. The constitution and bylaws have also been posted. Students can access the group by logging into Lionet, selecting the “groups” tab and searching for Student Senate.

Hinkle said he is working to reduce the red tape required for a student to come before Senate, but he hopes students will take advantage of the site to contact their student representatives.

They also maintain a Web site outside of Lionet:

Twenty-five of the 40 Senate seats have been filled. The senior class of senators is the largest with nine students who filed petitions to be on the ballot. Elections were not held since no positions were contested.

Senate Members:


Kisa ClarkBrant SmithSamantha CaseyCraig GoldenAdam GivensJohnathan Saunders


Caitlan BermelNathan HicksHowie LindemanJakob Forste

JuniorsMelody SalzerMalachi BlaxtonAmanda Van LueKaitlin TinneyJosh KlughTyler Smith

SeniorsLauren OxendineJeff WalkerDarrell SourDavid WeinsaftNiki AnsellDani WhiteLindi ToddArturo Lechuga-ArrietaMatt Day


Ben Hinkle, presidentWill Lynch, vice presidentAshley Blankenship, secretaryAlesha Gilleland, treasurer

Senators met for an orientation picnic on Sept. 10. The first business meeting will be Sept. 17 at 5:30 p.m. Due to construction in Billingsly, Senate will meet in Plaster Hall 109.