MCMA, SPJ honor ‘Chart,’ Hanrahan

Missouri Southern student journalists and their newspaper adviser have brought home some major honors.

The Chart captured first place in Best Overall Newspaper for Class 2 in the Missouri College Media Association competition and Chart Adviser T.R. Hanrahan was named MCMA Adviser of the Year last weekend. The awards, presented April 10, are for excellence in college journalism and are judged by professional journalists who are members of the Missouri Press Association.

“This shows once again that Missouri Southern produces some of the state’s best newspaper reporters,” said Brennan Stebbins, Chart editor-in-chief. “I think these honors reflect well on the paper, the department of communication and enhance the University’s reputation.”

On the same day, The Chart received word that it had bested Iowa State University for the Society of Professional Journalists’ Region 7 Award of Excellence for editorial writing. Region 7 includes all colleges and universities in Missouri, Kansas, Iowa and Nebraska.

According to the SPJ judges, The Chart’s entries were effectively crafted:

“Many proven effective opinion-writing techniques such as repetition, direct address, and strong, early calls to action in this series of editorials on the turmoil involving the university president,” they wrote.

For Adviser of the Year, Hanrahan bested a 16-year advising veteran and another with 32 years of experience. In presenting the award, Dr. Bob Bergland of Missouri Western State University cited “courage” as the quality that tipped the scales in Hanrahan’s favor.

“T.R. Hanrahan has both shown great courage and helped foster courage in his students in their coverage of highly controversial stories,” he said.

The Chart totaled 18 awards for newspaper excellence:

First-place awards went to Alexandra Nicolas, newswriting; Brennan Stebbins and Jordan Larimore, sportswriting; Patricia Pham,    regular column; Travis Curtice and Kaitlin Curtice, special section/supplement; Jessica Schreindl, story illustration; and The Chart, best overall newspaper, Class 2.

Second-place awards were presented to Brennan Stebbins, editorial writing; Travis Curtice and Kaitlin Curtice, photo page; and The Chart, sweepstakes, Class 2.

Third-place honors went to  Alexandra Nicolas; sportswriting; Parker Willis, regular column; Nathan Carter,   entertainment review; and Tiffany Eads and Angela Westphal, feature page.

Chart staff members also received five honorable mention awards.

Next year’s MCMA conference will be hosted by Missouri State University and will be in Springfield