Chart staff wins national award

Staff Reports

The Society of Professional Journalists awarded The Chart a Mark of Excellence award at it 2004 national convention held Sept. 9-11 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.

The Chart received the award in the national “Best Non-Daily Newspaper” category. This category was for college or university newspapers printed no more than once per week.

T.J. Gerlach, editor-in-chief, and David Haut, managing editor, as well as Jerry Manter, The Chart’s previous editor-in-chief, received the award at the Mark of Excellence awards banquet Sept. 11.

Also on Sept. 11, The Chart received recognition for winning Best in State in the 2004 Missouri College media Association Contest. Nate Billings, executive editor, Adam Fast, director of photography, Chris Heinrich, international editor, and J.R. Ledford, publications manager, received the award at the University Plaza Hotel in Springfield.